TESTIMONIALS

“Lovely relaxing weekend break in a quiet location , the hospitality of the owner and staff is first class from the welcome to leaving the property . The cottage itself has everything you could possibly need for a short or long stay , spacious and very nicely furnished . As of location 10 mins drive to supermarket and local town , Glasgow and Edinburgh are a short drive away . Perfect for a quite break away from it all.”

Beanstomatoes — April 2018

“Luxury self catering Country holiday home in Lanarkshire, business guest welcome.”

April 2018

“Big and full of character. Highly recommend if you have kids or large party. Massive reception rooms and loads of outdoor space to explore.”

April 2018

“A beautiful, spacious home in which to relax! We booked the property for a family get-together to celebrate a special birthday and anniversary together and it provided the perfect place for the event. We felt welcomed from the moment we stepped into the house where a wee dram of excellent whiskey and tablet for each guest awaited us on the kitchen table along with a card from the owner welcoming our family. The property was clean, comfortable, warm and cosy which was appreciated due to the inclement weather experienced during our visit. The extra little touches like the beautiful flowers in the kitchen, the full fruit bowl and cupboard full of all those little things one often forgets to pack made for a very pleasant visit. Everything within the property was of a high standard giving a feeling of comfort and luxury. It was lovely to meet the owner too..”

Carolyn S — April 2018

“Absolutely lovely place!! If a bit of peace and quiet is what you’re after but with the option of going to visit Glasgow or even Edinburgh without to much trouble then I cannot recommend this place highly enough….. Yvonne is absolutely lovely and all I did was mention I was there for a quiet long weekend with my wife and our 2-year-old girl and we were welcomed with chocolates, wine and a full selection of books and toys for the little one and even a rocking horse which she absolutely loved!!!! It was the little ones first time in a “big bed” and Yvonne laid out even more creature comforts to accommodate that and called around on Sunday morning armed with a newspaper and much needed (hangover sure) carton of orange juice to see if everything was ok…… I’ve staed in a few places, some better than others, but this one puts ven the best to shame, just got the warm and friendly feeling that nothing was too much to make us welcome and all of it coming from a genuine place 🙂 The house was spacious and warm and fully stocked in all rooms, not just in the kitchen, there is a BBQ outside in the garden that’s fully stocked with coals…. If there was more stars to give to this place I would, If there is 4,5 or even 6 or seven of you (if you dont mind the couch) then this place would be amazing in the summer!! The local towns are quiet small but there is enough places to go to if you’re out for a few nights and everyone there is so friendly its refreshingly uplifting On the first night we couldn’t get a table at the local restaurant (my fault for not booking on a bank holiday and thinking we could walk in), so we got a take away and asked them for a taxi number, taxi’s where booked up for the next hour, (again down to the bank holiday) so the take away insisted the delivery driver deliver us to the house LOL and even put in a free mini pizza for the little girl. I told them i only had a card so would they please take £5 for the lift off the card and give it to the driver and both refused!! A story about me being stupid was just another example of a lovely place with warm, happy people.”

Andy — April 2018

“Yvonne was a really great host and the barn was perfect location for us visiting family nearby.”

Natasha — April 2018

“le séjour dans cette maison au milieu de la ferme estbtres agréable surtout si comme moi vous aimer le calme et la tranquillité. c’est un lieu bien pour un couple amoureux. voyage de noce après la fête du mariage ou encore avec les enfants car on est en contacte avec la nature tout en ayant un équipement moderne sur les lieux c’est très agréables à vivre en tout cas ma famille à adoré et je compte bien y retourner et en parler à mes amis. tanks Yvonnes très sympathique et agréables au contact tu sais mettre les hôtes à l.aisé.”

William – Alexander — March 2018

“Absolutely amazing! I booked this lovely property to celebrate mum’s 80th Birthday. She did not want a big fuss made, just a quiet celebration with myself, sister and niece, it was such a lovely surprise to us all when we arrived at the property, it looked absolutely amazing on the website and it certainly did not disappoint, we all fell instantly in love with the place. It was so comfortable and welcoming, it met all our needs and made our stay so very special. Yvonne is so friendly, welcoming and very thoughtful, the little touches were so much appreciated. So thank you Yvonne, from the bottom of our hearts, your lovely, amazing, property made our stay so very very special. I would definately recommend this gorgeous place to family, friends and anyone that appreciates beautiful places.”

Tracey C — November 2017

“Absolutely fantastic! We booked West Laighnetherfield to use for a quiet gathering of approximately twenty friends and family and it couldn’t have been more perfect for our requirements……. and the bits that weren’t quite perfect Yvonne made perfect before our arrival! This included building a ramp for my disabled mother-in-law so that she could take part in the celebrations as well as moving rugs and sofas to accommodate us all. There was tablet and whisky on our arrival, milk in the fridge with tea and coffee available, children’s toys available and outside lights left on for us as we were arriving late. There was even a birthday present for my son who was turning two the same weekend! Yvonne had taken the time during the week to meet with my father-in-law to ensure that the property met the requirements for my mother-in-law and she popped in to see us to ensure everything was fine for our stay. The weekend was a surprise for my partner whose friends had travelled from all over the country and he absolutely loved it! The property is beautiful and Yvonne and her team have added extra touches in the bedrooms and bathrooms that make it luxurious. Our two year old was staying with us as did our dog and it all worked out perfectly. There are some quite large steps down from the kitchen and down into the living room. Our son is not particularly steady on his feet but managed them fine and we didn’t need to bring a thing for him…….cot, high chair, children’s cups, plates etc all provided along with beautiful toys and even sunglasses! We really can’t rate this property and Yvonne highly enough, nothing is too much trouble for Yvonne and the local area is beautiful! We can also highly recommend The Cats Whiskers cafe in Strathaven for brunch! Thank you Yvonne for making a special time even more memorable!’

Carly — October 2017

“Great place. We used it as a central location to do day trips to Edinburgh, Stirling, Largs, and Moffat. Nice to come home to your own house. Thanks Yvonne for the lovely welcome gifts. Would come back anytime. You will not be disappointed!”

Margaret — August 2017

“Host was welcoming. Ideal place for family gatherings. Huge living space. Great value for money.”

Lesley — August 2017

Located well between various sights we wanted to see, the house was a delight! Homey & spacious, we had everything & more at our fingertips. The kitchen is enormous & well equipped for a quick breakfast or elaborate evening meal.”

Carole — July 2017

“We entered the house to find whisky and tablet with a personalized note of welcome–awesome! The property is beautifully pastoral with lots of cows, and the house well-appointed. Kitchen has everything you could need, beds are comfortable with luxurious linens, and the large bathrooms are great, particularly the fabulous en suite. Yvonne is lovely and helpful with excellent communication. We had a wonderful family holiday.

Chris — July 2017

Absolutely ideal holiday property.

Imagine visiting every hotel or self-catering property you’ve ever been to and collected all the “I wish this had x”, well Yvonne has done just that. Everything you could possibly imagine is available. If you have children they’ll love it, lots of toys for toddler, children and even babies. Everything you could ever need for a holiday is at this property. Coffee machine (Tasimo), vegetable steamer… even a pair of binoculars (and a pair for a child too). It’s self catering and there’s enough kitchen hardware for anyone. The bedrooms are comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The master bathroom, shower room/ walk-in wardrobe will give you ideas for your own home! The setting is ideal and the character of the building adds to the fun. Book without hesitation. You won’t regret it whatever the weather. Yvonne and her staff made us very welcome and couldn’t do enough to make our stay a delight. “

David, (GB) — 6th June 2017 — Reservation number 1209425834 Your Booking.com  

Best treavel experience!!!

Starting from the excellent communication from the host before our travel date. The host waited for us despite us arriving late and she ensured we were comfortable, and she even upgraded us to a bigger house so that me and my family could have enough beds and be comfortable. The host was so hospitable and thoughtful. The house is BEAUTIFUL, and you can tell the host pays attention to those little details that make the whole experience even more enjoyable. It was big enough and very comfortable for us such that we were all sad to leave. The whole experience was first class! We will definitely be returning”

Sibo — May 2017

“We absolutely enjoyed our stay. It was the perfect way and place to start off our honeymoon. Our host was so warm and welcoming, we couldn’t have asked or wished for more. We definitely plan to stay here again down the road.”

Jaime — May 2017

Exceptional stay! 5 of 5.

Our 12 day family vacation in the UK was already going so well but our arrival at this Glasgow cottage was the icing on the cake! Not only did we feel so welcomed by our host and made to feel completely “at home”, this cottage is for those that want to just relax and enjoy the setting.

Highly recommend for families that want to stay close, yet just far enough from the city, to enjoy the countryside but want to take a drive to Glasgow and enjoy the sights! Can’t thank our host enough for such a nice setting. All the necessary accommodations and comforts were available. Would definitely stay again on next trip. Great for all types of families!”

Sergio F. Portugal – 1st May 2017

“My family spent 3 thoroughly enjoyable nights at West Laighnetherfield House towards the end of March 2017. The property itself is charming and eclectic. The owner has successfully accented the best historical / original features of the home while adding touches of originality, quirkiness and character. Our host Yvonne could not have been more accommodating, warm and welcoming. They embraced our family and did everything they could to facilitate our wish to host a family event at the house. (They even went over and above to ensure we had fresh flowers and that the house looked its absolute best.) All went amazingly well and we were complimented over and over again on the outstanding location. The property is very well equipped – we did face a challenge or two managing the aga / stove which we aren’t too familiar with in Canada..lol. The beds were comfortable and cosy, the bedding spotless and we felt overall very well looked after and provided for. GREAT house!”

Marianne Canada — 5th April 2017

Slept like a log!

Never stayed away from home and found the bedding so comfortable. The place is spotless and the kitchen is really well equipped. Very large rooms, a stay in the spring or summer would be great. Near to shops and outstanding restaurants, close links to the M74 motorway. Would definitely stay again.”

Sarah — 21st February  2017  Trip adviser

Excellent!

The house is beautifully decorated with lovely furnishings. Very comfortable! I have stayed at many places as I travel regularly and I can honestly say hand on heart this is at he best accommodation I have stayed in.everything is thought out and you want for nothing””

Mark, England  — booking.com

Blown Away!

Have already enquired about the same weekend next year but for a larger group. Perfect, spacious, beautiful, relaxing….i’m running out of adjectives to describe how good this place is. Everything has been thought of! A complete home away from home. Yvonne it’s been a complete pleasure.”

David & family — 16th December 2016

Really think of everything for their guests

Lovely cottage fully kitted out for all your needs. Clean, good quality furnishings. Excellent. Very helpful people too”

Wayne B — 22nd December 2016

“The property provided a wonderful stay for 4 days. Yvonne was brilliant ensuring we could check in with ease and provided us with absolutely everything we needed. We enjoyed some lovely walks nearby and enjoyed the calm of the countryside even with being just a short drive to Glasgow. Really think of everything for their guests.”

Fiona — December 2016

Absolutely amazing, blown away.

Have already enquired about the same weekend next year but for a larger group. Perfect, spacious, beautiful, relaxing….i’m running out of adjectives to describe how good this place is. Everything has been thought of! A complete home away from home. Yvonne it’s been a complete pleasure.”

David — December 2016

“Yvonne was brilliant and the house was gorgeous and incredibly comfortable. Right from arrival Yvonne was a wonderful host, she was available to help me find the property, gave accurate directions to get there and the house was warm and inviting. She left treats for us and left me her mobile number for anything we needed. The property was beautiful and comfortable and a joy to stay in. The beds were so comfy and we all felt at home straight away. The location was peaceful and beautiful (even in spite of the horrendous weather) and conveniently close to Glasgow for trips out. Great host and great property.”

Alix — December 2016

Stunning Property

Wonderful break in a wonderful house – the area is great, you are close (by car) to everything yet feel in the country.

The house is stunning, Yvonne (the owner) goes out of her way to make sure that every part of your stay is well taken care of.”

Yvonne Shepherd — 5th September 2016 — 5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic House

Had a fantastic week with family, The house was very well appointed & spacious, Ideal location for days in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Stirling and more.

Lovely walks on your doorstep, I particularly enjoyed watching the Deer while out walking our dog.

Internally, everything you could possibly need for a home from home was provided, Will be returning next year for sure”

Vincent G — 28th August 2016 — 5 out of 5 stars

“The host was lovely and greeted us on the arrival even it was late of the day. The place was nice and wonderful – the kitchen was superb and well equipped!! we have enjoyed our stay there, would recommend it to our friends.”

Ellen T (China) — August 2016 — Ref 3011762

A hidden gem in Scotland.

The owners could not have been any more helpful. The location was brilliant to see many different places in Scotland. The local villages with their excellent restaurants were an excellent surprise so if you didn’t want to cook you had great food and choice nearby! We had a lovely holiday and will return. The house was amazing , views beautiful and we felt right at home. The owners were very friendly, welcoming and made sure we were all happy and had everything we needed.”

Shauna, (GB) — 19th August 2016 — Reservation number: 311855635

“Beautiful Area and Stunning Property

Lovely owners. Very welcoming. Great for children”

Lara R — August 2016

“The host was lovely and greeted us on the arrival even it was late of the day. The place was nice and wonderful – the kitchen was superb and well equipped!! we have enjoyed our stay there, would recommend it to our friends.”

Ellen — August 2016

10/10 — Definitely worth taking time off to come see this idyllic property!!!

We couldn’t have had a more welcoming host or amazing property to stay at. Every aspect of our stay was absolutely fantastic, the only disappointment being that we were her by ourselves and not with our friends. In terms of accommodation, everything was catered for and the kitchen was so well equipped, we wanted for nothing while preparing meals, often an issue when staying self catering. There were walks a plenty within the local area, and the guide supplied was thoughtful and informative meaning that we didn’t have any questions. The only thing we would change is that we would stay for longer and can’t wait to come back.”

Michael (GB) — 1st January 2016 — Reservation number: 529839183

“We had a marvelous stay at West Laighnetherfield, peace & tranquil , beautiful surroundings & well placed to for the city. Thank you from the Boyle family.”

Jean Boyle — Festive Season 2015 — Reservation number: 351192280

“Stunning place in every way, great hospitality from the owner, cannot do enough for you”

Paula & Greg St Helens — 15th February 2015 — Reservation number: 676941331

“Our stay at West Laighnetherfield’ was made special because we take our three dogs everywhere we go and they were made every bit as welcome as us. Large living area, easily comfortable for the six of us in beautiful interiors.”

Mrs Dunsmuir Leicester — 23rd January 2015 — Reservation number: 351172290

Three Ways To Make A Booking

0333 123 0111

enquiries@westlaighnetherfield.co.uk

LUXURY SELF CATERING COTTAGE SCOTLAND


Clyde Valley Cottages, Strathaven Hotels, Self Catering Lanarkshire, Bed and Breakfast Strathaven, Holiday Cottages in Lanarkshire Scotland, Hotels in Strathaven, Strathaven Hotel, Unique Cottages Scotland, Unique Holiday Cottages Scotland, Unique Scottish Cottages, Unique Cottages in Scotland, Hotels in Lanarkshire, Hotels Lanarkshire, Lanarkshire Hotels, Hotels in Lanarkshire Area, Pet Friendly Cottages in Scotland, Country Cottages Scotland, Cottages to Hire in Scotland, Boutique Cottages Scotland, Cottages for Hire in Scotland, Cottages for Hire Scotland, Large Cottages Scotland